There are more workers to work from home and more students to study from home. This is because computer technology is more accessible and cheaper.

Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Thanks to the advance in modern science and technology, the demand for online learning and telecommuting has risen significantly and it will continue doing in the future, especially with the unprecedented COVID19 pandemic. As far as I am concerned, students and workers could fully grasp the benefits of this trend.

To begin with, both e-learning and online working offer a great degree of flexibility. First, people do not need to spend hours to travel to their workplaces or schools as they now can easily access the Internet to complete their work. Consequently, they can not only save time and money but also minimize the risk of serious diseases such as lung or skin cancer. This phenomenon somewhat has positive impacts on the environment and society because it diminishes the emissions released from vehicles as well as noise pollution caused by traffic congestion in peak hours. Furthermore, due to no distractions occurring in workplaces, employees could be more focused on work, which motivates their creativity and productivity.

In addition to the advantages that telecommuting and e-learning bring to individuals, this also brings positive outcomes for schools and businesses. First, the budget for construction and maintenance of facilities could be invested in educational materials or enhancing products and services. Moreover, online learning allows schools to reach out to a more extensive network of students, instead of being restricted by geographical boundaries. Besides, teachers could use a lot of online tools such as videos or animations to deliver lessons to their students, which makes them visualize and learn easily.

In conclusion, I am firmly convinced that learners and employees would be entirely beneficial from this way of learning and working.