There are more workers to work from home and more students to study from home. This is because computer technology is more accessible and cheaper.

Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, thanks to developed technologies such as computers and the internet, people tend to work and study from their home. Although I accepted that this trend has some positive points, I think the adverse effects are more significant.

Computer systems have many benefits, including accessibility and affordability, which have facilitated students and workers' work remotely. This working method could save time due to time reduction, wasted for traveling to schools or workplaces. As a result, distance activities lead to coastal living costs because the fuel costs will be diminished. In addition to the benefits mentioned above, remote working allows students and employees to implement their daily schedules and does not force them to do their tasks in a compulsory time frame. Take a student tending to study at nights as an example. He could study and do his homework more efficiently due to the accessibility of online educational videos uploaded on the internet.

Although studying and working from home has some advantages, the adverse effects are more remarkable from my perspective. In other words, remote working reduces communication and engenders severe physical and mental illnesses, which may cause dire consequences. Mental problems such as desperation may compromise the people’s lifelong and subside their life expectations. To surmount these problems, individuals, including students and workers, should participate in group teams to surge their morale. Moreover, physical issues such as muscle cramping and eye sour are prevailing problems derived from constant computer using. Take a worker who is forced to work with a computer as an example. He looks to a computer screen for almost eight hours per day to complete his tasks; however, the blue radiation released could damage his eyes and cause eye drying disorders.

For the reasons mentioned above I think the disadvantage of working and studying from home outweighs the advantages although this technology is cheap and accessible.