Countries should try to produce all the food for the population and import as little food as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people think that nations should produce all the food products for citizens as well as reducing importing. While this act is beneficial in some ways, I am convinced that it is associated with serious drawbacks that far outweigh the benefits.

On the one hand, there are some explanations for why countries should produce all the food products and reduce food imports. One reason could be that it might boost the national food industry. In other words, when the amount of foreign food imported is restricted, more buyers will switch to country-made products. This leads to the rise in sales for food companies and thus, contributes to the wealth and economic success of the nation.

I, however, would argue that this act of the government would bring adverse effects for the citizens. First and foremost, it is indisputable that choosing what kind of food to eat is a matter of personal preference . In many cases, the food that citizens prefer to ear might not necessarily be the food produced by the government. In addition, some food imported from countries such as China is known for being relatively affordable and it serves as the main source of food for low-income people. Therefore, this less fortunate part of the population will suffer if the authorities declined importing and introduce new products which are likely to be sold at higher prices.

To conclude, while some people agree that the government should be responsible for food production and reducing importing, I would contend that this is an unreasonable act that would cause some detrimental effects for the population.