Countries should try to produce all the food for the population and import as little food as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people hold a viewpoint that all the food provided for the population should be produced locally. I totally disagree with this statement and my standpoint will be explained in this essay.

There are a number of reasons why countries should not try to produce all the food for the population domestically. First, since people use more chemicals for agriculture, the environment will be effected badly. In fact, the exorbitant use of fertilizers, herbicides, and pesticides onto crops can be released into the atmosphere as harmful air pollutants. Furthermore, heavy rains remove chemicals from the site of food production and transport them to other locations, polluting soils, waterways, and other ecosystems. Second, trying to produce all the food for the population would demand the large share of the population working in agriculture. This means that the governments have to allocate large amounts of labor workforce for many aspects of food production, leading to the lack of investment in other important sectors such as education and medical care.

In addition, if the governments impose a restriction on food import from other countries, local residents will not have a chance to experience the variety of international cuisines. Obviously, due to the different climatic and geographical features, countries cannot grow all sorts of fruits and vegetables throughout the year. In America and Canada, for example, some types of food ingredients simply cannot be produced to provide for the population, so as much as 60% of everything they eat is actually imported from other countries. In a long run, people will not feel the need to know more about international specialties, consequently leading to a lack of mutual understanding of various cultures.

In conclusion, it is not a good idea for countries to limit imported food from the outside and to just produce food domestically as this would take a toll on the locals and the environment.