The crime rate nowadays is decreasing compared to the past due to advances in technology which can prevent and solve crime. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that technological improvements aid in the prevention and resolution of criminal activities, which lead to a drastic reduction in crime rate. In my opinion, I agree that the use of technology is key to minimizing levels of crime. However, I believe that it eases people to commit crime.

Technology such as CCTV systems and facial recognition by artificial intelligence, which provides surveillance on the streets and easily detect wanted criminals. Thus, a potential breach of the law can be prevented and detain dangerous criminals that possess weapons, for instance, guns and knives. Furthermore, if people are aware of being monitored, not only they will obey the laws but to stay away from unlawful activities. For example, installing speed cameras along the highways has curtailed traffic crimes dramatically in Malaysia.

On the other hand, technology advancement introduces modern crimes such as cyber scamming and hacking computer-based systems. These illegal activities often involve mobile phone and computer. For instance, scammer calling the parents requesting for a big sum of money to save their children from kidnapping, human trafficking or illnesses, when their children are not with them. In addition, online hackers can steal and sell personal information of a person to the third party without permission by just sitting in front of a computer. There are online hackers hack charity websites to fraud Samaritan’s money.

In conclusion, although, the use of technology causes the appearance of cybercrimes, there is a significant reduction in crimes as modern crimes are easily tackled because today’s people are smarter and knowledgeable.