Currently, there is a trend towards the use of alternative forms of medicine. However, at best these methods are ineffective and at worst may be dangerous. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

In recent times, alternative medicine has gained a lot of popularity, criticism and attention in public. While some believe that it could be beneficial there are also speculations about its harmful effects on an individuals body. I do not completely agree with this statement and in this essay I would support my view with examples.

On the one hand, alternative medicine field (Accu-puncture, Ayurveda, Homeopathy, Naturopathy etc..) is not much researched about and has its dark side. This is because, while performing the therapy by an inexperienced hands could lead to anatomical dislocations, paralysis and death. Furthermore, the methods and practices used in this field gives a slow result for the treatment of ailments. Whereas, people need symptomatic relief and want to see themselves fit in no time. For example, an acupuncture done by an unprofessional in experienced therapist can go wrong. As a result, it would lead to a permanent neurological deficit, paralysis, joint damage and death. In contrast, if this kind of medicine is practicsed wisely with correct maneuvers, it could permanently relieve a persons ailment. This will result in a satisfied happy patient with minimal chemical drugs in their body system.

On the other hand, I believe that alternative medicine has its own role in curing disease of a person. While, this kind of medicine has been in existence over past many years and is still in use by many cultural people as well as Indian sages. The reason for this is, the traditional steps and techniques involved in this system. For instance, many naturally occurring elements like seeds, leaves, bark of tree, flowers and water are used as an essential ingredients in Ayurvedic medicine. In order to benefit the health these elements are mixed and used in right proportions by scholars who have dedicated their life in this study. However, if it is practiced by an ignorant half knowledgeable person it could become poisonous and overdosing could lead to death. As a consequence, people are afraid to consult and apply these techniques on themselves.

In conclusion, while these less researched alternative medicine techniques are criticized and rejected by modern medicine due to their detrimental effects, personally, I believe they should be given a chance to play a role in treatment strategy only if used in a correct manner. It could also be used in conjunction with modern medicine with similar goals of saving a life.