Many elderly people are no longer looked after by their families but are put in care homes or nursing homes. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

There is no doubt that in today’s hectic life elderly family members are the least cared about people. There are many advantages of admitting old people in care or nursing homes, but we should also consider the drawbacks of this step. In this essay, I will discuss both the positives and the negatives of this approach. and will provide examples wherever necessary.

To begin with the positives, the elderly citizens enjoy the care and company that they receive in old-age homes. This is due to the professional people like nurse and helpers are employed in these institutions. They are responsible to take care of physical, mental and emotional needs of elderly. For example, the older people get regular medical checkups and a health card is maintained for them. Furthermore, from pursuing their hobbies like gardening, pottery or painting to celebrating their birthdays, are all planned for them. In contrast, the charm of staying at home are playing with the grandchildren and seeing them growing up. As a result, this positive environment keeps them happy and healthy.

Nevertheless, when the old parents are sent away from home to such elderly care facilities, they feel sad and lonely. This is because, they cannot cope up with the distance from family and the friends. For instance, old people wait for festivals, so that they can reunite with their loved ones. However, the health of these old people can best be monitored under a professional guidance. As a consequence, medical emergencies cannot be handled properly at home thus leading to unfavourable outcomes.

In conclusion, even though old people get more love and affection at home, they receive better medical care in nursing care facilities. Hence, the advantages of these professional institution outweigh the benefits of home stay.