In recent years, alternative forms of medicine have become a highly recognized topic of discussion among medical experts, causing some public controversy. Although these kinds of medicine are considered beneficial in some cases, they can be fraught with pitfalls due to their negative impacts on patients.

One of the most compelling reasons is that they are ineffective. First, most alternative therapies nowadays are reliant on psychological effect experienced by the patients. In fact, by perceiving the improvements in their medical condition, even if these are not real, these patients are tricked into believe they are being cured, much due to personal expectations. In addition, the patients might waste a great deal of money by choosing unconventional treatments, including acupuncture and homeopathy, as they have no scientific basis. In fact, recent clinical tests show that the health conditions of patients treated by these medicines are not getting better, which suggests their effects are insignificant.

Besides, the use of alternative medicines can be counterproductive. First, many desperate patients have visited unqualified practitioners to treat several chronic illnesses, such as insomnia, which potentially deteriorates their health. As a result, these patients might be vulnerable to medical malpractice, especially allergic reactions, by taking alternative medicines. Second, by listening to word of mouth, plenty of citizens tend to blindly follow alternative treatments hoping that they can be effectively treated. This would have several adverse impacts on the patients themselves, as these alternative medicines can be dangerous.

In conclusion, even though alternative treatments offer certain benefits, they seem to do more harm than good. By getting the right medicines and actively engaging in exercise, citizens will certainly have a healthier life.