Currently there is a trend towards the use of alternative forms of medicine. However, at best these methods are ineffective, and at worst they may be dangerous. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

In the modern society, alternative forms of medicine have become more and more ubiquitous, causing some levels of public controversy about its effectiveness. Although the conventional medicine industry may not give these innovative treatments a pass, alternative forms of treatment are beneficial due to its justifiablity and efficiency.

Admittedly, alternative treatments may not applicable all the time, they can provide an economical way to help patient rehabilitate and rejuvenate. First and foremost, by reducing the amount of western medicine used, patients can save the money and use that in a more pragmatic way. Taking common cold as an example, instead of using expensive prescription drug, people can merely drink orange juice to enhance their immune system, which will help them to get better since pills have been proved to not work with common cold but decrease the symptoms. Moreover, alternative medicine help people to save time by approaching an illness from accurate parts, compared to western treatment with step-by-step process from the outside to inside parts of the body. For instance, while radiotherapy kill both cancer cells and normal cells, patients who are suffered from cancer can decelerate the speed of cancer cells only by eating organic vegetables and exercising; therefore, they will live longer.

On the other hand, many doctors have declared that these alternative forms of medicine are not hazardous at all. First, the choice of using alternative forms of medicine depends on its users, which means that people can give up using them as long as they want to or switch to other more effective ways. Therefore, it can be implied that the use of alternative treatment is not limited because there are manifold ways and types of treatments with no consistent duration. Second, the foundation of these forms of medicine are improving people’s health by giving them more strength to fight against diseases. As a result, the more patient practice these alternative treatments, the more wholesome they become. For example, yoga can be an effective way to help people not only lose their weight but also developing their body against high pressure and cardiovascular diseases.

In brief, I have arrived at a conclusion that alternative forms of medicine is efficacious if they are applied accurately and do no harm to people’s health at all. People should make full use of these effective ways due to their cheap price and positive implications to our health.