Cyclists and car drivers sharing the same roads causes some problems. What are the problems and what can be done to reduce them?Cyclists and car drivers sharing the same roads causes some problems. What are the problems and what can be done to reduce them?

It can not be denied that when car drivers and cyclists share the same roads, several dangerous situations would happen frequently. The major problem is the accidents caused by both car and bike users, which can be tackle with through government efforts to construct separate lane for each vehicles.

As we can see, a large number of accidents have occurred since cars and bikes joined in traffic in one road. The main reason is due to the disobedient of bikers to the traffic rules which led to many serious injuries for both vehicles users, especially cyclists, even when wearing a helmet for head protection. While bike users are sometimes responsible for causing accidents when they do not abide by the traffic laws, car drivers often fail to aware of other road users. For example, 2 years ago, one day my cousin rushed to school by bike in the rush hours because he woke up late. When he was going to pass a car which was slowing down, the car accidentally turned right, causing my cousin to crash into the back of the car. He fell and hit his head on the road, ending up with severe brain injuries. This story clearly illustrates how dangerous it is when cars and bikes travel in the same roads.

In my opinion, the best solution is for the authorities to create a separate lane which is solely for bicycles. This development will definitely bring huge advantages to both car drivers and cyclists since each vehicle has its own pathway for transit in its average speed and keeping a safe distance with each other. DBP street, for instance, was one of the first location which has been reconstructed to have a bicycle lane beside the lane for cars. The 5-meter road was divided in to 2 parts: 3 meters for cars and 2 meters for bikes and motorcycles. From then on, the residents hardly witnesses any accidents, besides, more and more people have chosen bike to commute to work or school because of the safety lane for cyclists.

In conclusion, from the reasons I mentioned above, I believe the idea that constructing special lane for cars and bicycles would help to avoid many severe problems.