In recent years, the pressure of students in university is increasing and they are pushed to work hard from a young age. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, students have to suffer from many pressures from schools and universities. In my opinion, I believe that this is a positive trend since students can make use of their best time to study and enjoy greater career opportunities.

To begin with, students can clearly take advantage of their youth. While brain of adults is rigid, brain of children is still developing and can easily absorb knowledge at an unparalleled rate. Take myself as an example, when I was 5, my father sent me to the Chinese classes for 20 hours per week. I effortlessly memorized new words and imitated the native accent. By the age of 8, my Chinese level was already at C1. In contrast, when starting learning English in university, it took me 3 years to simply reach a B1 level. As such, children should not miss this window of opportunity when knowledge acquisition is still at optimum to study hard.

And furthermore, studying hard can prepare for students’ future career. Students who spend great efforts on studying to get excellent grades are able to make themselves more attractive to employers. As a personal example, during 4 years of university, I always studied hard for good grades. Near my graduation day, many companies came to my university to look for potential candidates. They were attracted when they saw my top-ranked GPA and as a result, I received an offer from a reputed multinational firm. My personal story illustrates that a strong work ethic can open doors to many opportunities.

To sum up, for the reasons mentioned above, I think that students should utilize their young age to acquire as much knowledge as possible.