After the industrial revolution, the environment has gone through greatly detrimental changes. The rapid growth of industrialization and the rise of the mechanized factory system have led to improvement of every aspect of people’s lifestyles around the world. Personally, I believe that raising the standards of living unavoidably leads to environmental deterioration.

To begin with, mass production of diverse items and wide range of facilities give rise to depletion of natural sources such as water, soil, heavy metals and so on. Also deforestation in order to expand farmlands for producing more food can in turn contribute to extinction of the indigenous living species. Besides, climate change arising from emissions of cars and factories is another major problem that threatens biodiversity on earth. Increasingly, air and water are being contaminated due to polluting particles produced by industrial activities.

Equally important, the improvements in the living standards itself has brought about dramatic changes in values and principles people have gotten used to through recent century. As people tend to be more voracious in acquisition of goods and possessions compared to the past. What is more, most of the people evaluate themselves merely by their materialistic achievements and accomplishments. For instance, in the past every family had a car but nowadays every single person in a family want to own a car. As a result, this massive production leads to more depletion of natural sources and pollution. To put it all together, the higher living standards result in more materialism and consumerism that in turn making people more eager to improve their lifestyles. This vicious circle is going to last constantly. Consequently, we are going to face more and more exploiting and polluting natural sources leading to environmental degradation.

To put it in a nutshell, according to what mentioned above, we can't have our cake and eat it too. So I think strongly that deterioration of the environment cannot be evaded in today’s ever-increasing the standards of living improvement.