Should criminals be punished with lengthy jail terms or re educated and rehabilitated using community service programs for instance before being reintroduced to society

Everybody has the potential to commit a crime in the predisposing situations. So the idea of isolating the criminals from the society totally and sending them to the prison for a long time may not always be a favorable solution. By my reckoning, although lengthy jail terms can also be a functional solution in some cases, rehabilitation is far more profitable in addressing these issue.

Firstly, most of the crimes committed are due to financial problems or in some countries, the colossal distinctive social class among people gradually leads to grow resentment and frustration in the people belonging to the lower class. As a result, it can make an individual never having been involved in any kind of illegal activities susceptible to break the laws or moral codes. As a matter of fact, it enables us to figure out that penalizing such criminals without rehabilitation is fairly injustice and appears merely as a temporary solution. That is to say, these ex-convicts would dramatically commit a crime again after releasing from the jail. Also the inmates can learn new and better ways to commit crimes while they are locked up with their fellow convicts. While, rehabilitation or re-educating programs train the inmates the literacy and work skills which can bring a new dimension to their lives when their punishments finished. Or they can help deal with prisoners’ psychological issues.

Secondly, in some cases such as the serial murderers, the best choice of punishment is the lengthy jail terms as they are a major threat to the society and rehabilitation cannot help them change their attitudes or essential beliefs. Some of the criminals are psychopath or have tough mental disorders difficult to be treated or controlled, so cause them not to be well responsive to re-education or rehabilitation programs.

To sum up, the rehabilitation programs are the best possible remedy for most of the criminals before reintroducing them to the society, however, imprisoning for long terms can also be taken into account as the second priority for some criminal cases.