In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

there is no denying that there is a significant rise in the number of elderly people in the world, especially in industrialised countries. Unluckily, it exerts many negative effects on society as a whole. this essay will analyse these consequences and recommend some practical methods to handle this phenomenon.

it can be said that there are various impacts of the aging population. One of the anticipated effects is that this leads to the rise of the quantity of dependent people. In other words, there are more people who is not of working age and, otherwise, less residents managing to participate in labour market. The state of shrinking workforce may be a significant factor influencing negatively on national economy. another adverse impact is that the elderly population may impose a financial burden on social welfare fund. this is due to the fact that people at the advanced age would claim pension benefits while pay a lower tax. When the number of the elderly increase, the goverment must raise tax to balance the welfare spending. Needless to say, adults who is at working age would pay more money to shoulder this tax burden.

However, there are some effective ways that we could carry out to tackle the adverse effects mentioned above. Firstly, the authority should follow policies aimed at rising the retirement age, perhaps frome 65 to 70. Take the country of Japan as an example. In this country, the elderly, if their health condition remain to be good, can continue working in certain job such as taxi driver, security guard or even manager. another solution could be taken is encouring immigration from other countries, espesially places having young population like China, Vietnam or Brazil. To be more precise, this extra number of foreign workers will expand the workforce. As a result, domestic companies would be provided with better human resource, thereforce, they are more likely to grow faster. In general, this is a considerable force for the development of national economy.

In conclusion, it can be said that aging population brings many negative influences. Nevertheless, if these solutions mention above are implemented, this situation will be mitigated.