Modern world Witnessed a hike in medical technology as well as people adopting healthy habits resulted in an increased lifespan for people. Even though we all for sure need to live long, there are some ill effects in this long life which will effect the person and society. We can see some bad aspects of lengthy life and possible remedies in this essay.

In our society the children under 15 and the people over 60 is considered as dependent people. Increase in the ratio of dependent people is a threat to the economy of the country and the society. There should be provision for taking care of them, medications food shelter and other essential needs. Improvement in healthcare and other preventive aspects of health increased the life expectancy for people all over the world. One family with more dependent will be a burden to the one who is earning for them, sickness and other family issues will worsen the issue. Older people are more dependent and need assistant in almost all activities, this will cost a lot of energy, time and materials. Governments need to arrange a huge amount of money for giving pension and healthcare assistance to the old. Productivity is very redused in older ages and it will cause lose for companies who employees them, besides it will cause loss of opportunities for the young, it can worsen unemployment.

So far there is no major strategies to sort out this issues, as we cannot ignore the old, still we can find some practical measures for this issue. We can reduce the impact to the society considerably by lot of means like, educating them for selfcare activities. Providing assisting devices and injury prevention will empower the old to do some activities. Setting up old care homes can reduce the social and psychological problems for the old and it can improve the productivity.

In a nutshell, eventhough growing old age group is an irritating problem for the society and the person we can't just ignore them. There is no clear cut guidance in reducing the old population but can improve the productivity and prevent impairment in a variety of means.