In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impacts of ageing populations.

There is a sustainable increase in life expectancy in many developed countries. This issue is likely to lead to some effects on society, and several actions need to be taken to tackle it.

To begin with, some impacts might be caused by ageing population. First, old people are usually more vulnerable to chronic diseases such as heart attacks or diabetes, which requires special medical treatment. This would put a heavy burden on the healthcare system. Furthermore, due to a great number of elderly, the government needs to devote a large amount of money to pension benefits. As a result, the public budget would not be enough to spend on other key factors such as education and transport.

The government could implement a range of measures to deal with the problem of increasing life expectancy. Firstly, the state should encourage the immigration of young working adults, which helps to increase the government's tax. Secondly, because people of retirement age tend to be healthy to work effectively, the government could also increase the retirement age for working adults. Finally, elderly people should be educated about the importance of money management and saving for retirement. This would help them to have their own fund to take care of themselves without the needs of the government.

In conclusion, there are some impacts of increasing life expectancy on government, and this problem could be addressed by several effective solutions.