It is important for all towns and cities to have large public spaces such as squares

and parks. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people claim that all towns and cities need to have large public areas such as squares and parks. While these places bring to cities a range of benefits, I personally believe that it is unnecessary for all cities to build them.

To begin with, there are several reasons why parks or squares are important for cities. Firstly, these places are equipped with many sport facilities, which allows citizens to relax and do physical activities. As a result, this would improve public health.. If there are no parks and squares, people would rarely enjoy fresh air in big cities such as Ho Chi Minh city. Secondly, these destinations having many trees would help reduce the amount of carbon

dioxide and gas emissions in the air. This could mitigate air pollution and climate change.

However, I also argue that all cities do not have to build parks or squares. First, since these places are often required to construct and maintain, the government spends a large amount of money on them. Instead of building parks, the government could invest budget in key sectors such as health care and education. Furthermore, parks and squares need to be built in large areas, which lead to a lack of land to build other essential constructions such as hopital, schools and skyscrapers. If parks are built, cities have more space to construct others.

In conclusion, although public places have many advantages, it would be wasted resources to build them in all cities.