In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

Undeniably, the advent of advanced medical technology significantly extends life expectancy, while it also accompanies a variety of negative outcomes. It is thus an urgent need for government to enact active and effective policies in order to eliminate public concerns.

Firstly, on the societal level, longer life adds to the burden of taxpayers. To be precise, an increasing budget for food supply and pensions leads to higher living expenses which may repress the younger and even pose a threat to economics. In addition, there is an extension of the retirement age, according to the newly published Chinese law, which will potentially exert a negative influence on the unemployment of the next generation. Secondly, with regard to the individuals, nursing elderly people often exhausts as well as restricts young workers' freedom in their leisure time. As a return to nurturing, time for taking care of parents with disabilities will occupy filial children’s spare time.

To address the roots of the problem, the government should invest more in the scientific researches of geriatrics. Financial aid to those families with more than one disabled parent is also crucial to reduce the burden of adults who take the moral responsibility. The community also bears the blame to establish a harmonious atmosphere which includes mediating the relationship between older people as well as avoiding the occurrences or missing to reduce the impact of aging populations.

In conclusion, society makes great efforts to diminish the disadvantages in terms of the lengthened average life. On the other hand, the public should not overestimate their drawbacks, and the positive effects cannot be ignored.