In the developed world, average Life expectancy is increasing.

What problem will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

There is no denial that people, especially in industrialized nations, expect a longer life span compared to average age the past. However, this circumstance has drawn a mounting concern in the society. It is sensible that this is an overriding factor of major problems impinging on community. Tackling such problem will not be straight-forward, but there are measures that can be taken, which I will show in this essay.

On the one hand, the predominant obstacles which aging population results in are twofold. One of the most primary problems is that this situation brings about the financial burden on government. It is no wonder that elderly people at retirement age require a substantial amount of money from nation’s budget to live on. For instance, the epic proportion of elderly along with a small number of young adults will lead to the reduce in tax income. In the sense that tax which should be used to be allocated in other categories, has to be paid for pension. In addition, another trouble arising from increasing life expectancy is the lack of workforce in order to give rise to burgeoning economy. Needless to say, the elderly by no means as effective as young teenagers in terms of physical strength or mental agility, which may results in inproduction and postponed tasks.

Apart from the obstacles above, there are numerous potential ways to address or at least mitigate its effect. The burden of responsibility lies in the hand of government is that they can lengthen the work age from 60 to 65 or above because many elderly still have enough health and ambition to continue their work despite old age. Moreover, government should encourage people give birth to children by supporting finance payment to who do not have ability to bring up children. For examples, many nations such as Australia have already provided an astronomous fee including accommodation, education or health insurance to a child who was born in an indigent family. What is more, government should welcome the immigration so as to guarantee a sufficient employee, replace for people at the retire age. Last but not least, one feasible approach is that authority can allocate enough money in health service to meet the demands of increasing life expectancy.

In conclusion, so as to contend with those dire consequences, government and indivdual are both responsible to take a step and minimize the problems.