Development in technology has brought various environmental problems. Some believe that people need to live simpler lives to solve environmental problems. Others, however, believe technology is the way to solve these problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is true that technological developments have devastating effects on the environment. for example motor vehicles pollute the air and using pesticide in farming contaminate the lands and water resources. From the perspective of some people, the only way to tackle these problems is that people adopt a simpler life. I agree that simpler lives may mitigate environmental issues but I believe technological advances could solve the problems caused by it.

Some people believe that in order to prevent environmental concerns originated from technology development, we must live simple lives and rely less on technology. For example, we could walk or cycle rather than driving a car or reducing the consumption of electricity that’s could alleviate air pollution problems.

But I would argue that it is true that encouraging people to have simpler lives could be beneficial to some extent but new technologies have become an integral part of our lives and it is impractical to convince people to stop using them. I believe a better solution is investing in green technologies. For example to solve the problems mentioned above, replacing fossil fuel power plants with clean and renewable energy sources like solar or wind power plants which could reduce the number of greenhouse gas emissions in the atmosphere. The electric car is a promising technology that could replace the cars running on fossil fuels that could eliminate exhaust fumes. diminishing the use of pesticides that are used in farms to control the insect pest populations by using genetic engineering.

In conclusion, it is true that encourage people to change their current lifestyle helps to prevent environmental issues but an effective solution is technology improvements to make it cleaner and greener.