Nowadays, experience is more valued in the workplace than knowledge in many countries. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, most employees prefer job applicants who have more working experience in a relevant position. While I accept that this method has advantages for both employees and employers, I would argue that knowledge of employers also should be given high importance.

On the one hand, having experience in a job is very important. It enables workers to decide wise decisions in the working environment and perform their tasks wisely that can guarantee a business to be flourish. Another advantage of putting high emphasis on working experience in the labor market could encourage young people to achieve essential working skills and abilities that make them more employable. Unfortunately, these days students only focus on their ability to grasp voluminous syllabus and their academic grades so they lack various working skills that are needed in today’s competitive labor market. Moreover, this issue could motivate several young people to embark on their future careers as soon as possible to aquire profound ability and experience in their jobs.

On the other hand, academic education is needed for various professions, such as doctors, engineers, teachers, lawyers, and so on. Studying in universities is very time-consuming and students must spend several years in universities and deal with a variety of difficult courses to graduate, so several students do not get the time to work beside their studies. If different businesses only recruit job applicants who have working experience, they never get a chance to put into practice what they have learned during their studies, which makes them reluctant to study and increases university dropout.

In conclusion, knowledge and experience are both necessary to perform well in a job. I believe that different businesses also should provide and working opportunities for newly graduated students to become experienced in their jobs.