getting promotions are one of the biggest motivations for hard work in the modern workplace. Why are people so driven to receive promotions? what other factors motivate people to work hard?

Most people are driven by the prospect of getting a promotion. This essay will discuss why this is the case and also suggest some other ways that companies can use to motivate people to work hard. The first reason for having the drive to get promotions is monetary satisfaction. Everyone wants to live a comfortable life and this is not possible without earning enough money.

Moreover, in these days, when jealousy and envy have become common emotions, promotions, and resulting salary hikes can help satisfy them. A recent survey by the New York Times can attest to this fact which showed that about 1/3 of the people surveyed selected the money value as the top reason for motivation behind getting promotions. Secondly, many people believe that getting a promotion is a sign that the company has appreciated their work. / the company appreciates their work. Promotions give a sense of recognition to the employees and make them feel that they are valued. A person hungry for recognition always wants to keep the work momentum going in the right direction.

There are, however, some other factors equally helpful for keeping employees motivated to work hard. First of them can be autonomy and trust. Employees are often irritated by the supervisors and bosses who micromanage. If they’re trusted enough and given the opportunity to work on their own, they will not only stay motivated at work but can also flourish in their roles. The second motivating reason can be a better work-life balance. In today’s competitive environment where employers have unrealistic expectations, employees are often forced to put in extra hours and this ultimately affects their personal life. The employee feels stressed out and lose motivation in the long run. The survey agency, ‘Great places to work’, for example, gives the highest credits to the companies which provide / offer greater work-life balance for their workers.

In conclusion, employees are motivated by promotions because they elevate their social status and enable them to earn more. Offering them more authority and showing trust in them are other ways companies can use to motivate their employees.