getting promotions are one of the biggest motivations for hard work in the modern workplace. Why are people so driven to receive promotions? what other factors motivate people to work hard?

To perform well in a job, people should be motivated. There are several ways that employers could use to keep their employees motivated. One of these ways is promotions. In this essay I would argue the reasons for why people are so driven to receive promotions and other ways that can be used to improve performance of workers at work.

To begin with, for the majority of the people, getting promotion is the first motivation to improve their performance at their work. The primary reason for this is that everyone love to be prized. When our efforts are recognized by others we try harder to enhance our performance. Therefore, promotion is a sign that the efforts of employees is appreciated and make them the feel that they are valued. Another motivation behind getting promotions is better salary packages that enable them meet their expenses easier.

However, there are some other measures that could be helpful to keep employees motivated to work. First of them can be autonomy and trust. Employees always are irritated by the supervisors who tell them regularly what to do. If they are trusted to give an opportunity to work on their own. They not only stay motivated but also they can flourish at their roles. The second motivation reason could be a better work-life balance. In today’s competitive environments some employer may have unrealistic expectation from their worker and may force them to work overtime. This issue can have destructive effects on their personal life and they may lose their motivation in a long run. So most of the employees are looking forward to work for the companies that provide more flexible working hours that allow them to get enough time to spend with their families.

In conclusion, the most important reasons why employees are motivated by promotions is that bring them the sense of recognition and increases their income. Offering greater work-life balance and offering the employees more authority and showing trust is other actions that could be done to motivate the workers.