The internet means people do not need to travel to foreign countries to understand how others live.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, the internet has become an integral part of our lives and helps us live easier and more convenient. From the perspective of some people, with the spread of information on the internet, there is no need to travel to other foreign countries to learn about other nations’ ways of living. While I accept that using The internet is beneficial for broadening our knowledge about other countries’ culture and traditions, I still believe that traveling still is the best means to understand other cultures.

On the one hand, the internet provides easy access to wider information sources, such as online libraries, online newspapers, online journals, and etc. Therefore, people could easily enter the keywords and find the information they want at minimal cost or for free. So, the internet endows people with the ability to acquire vast knowledge about other nations ‘ cultures and traditions. Furthermore, not all people are wealthy enough to afford potentially constly international traveling. So the internet provides a great opportunity for them to see the world in the comfort of home.

On the other hand, whereas the internet is full of credible, engaging, and exciting information sources about cultures and heritage of other nationalities, it also may contain misguided knowledge about other countries. For example, most western media always try to portray Iran as one of the most dangerous countries in the world. However, the majority of foreign tourists who visited iran concede that Iran is a magnificent country with the most well-coming people in the world. Moreover, a journey to other countries provides visitors with amazing and unforgettable experiences, such as attending traditional festivals and religious ceremonies, visiting museums and other historical places, wearing costumes, buying souvenirs, which allow travelers to get in-depth knowledge about foreign cultures and traditions.

In conclusion, although the internet facilitates earning information about different cultures, I believe traveling will remain the best way to understand people who are different from us.