Different people have different opinions regarding retirement age. What factors should be considered while deciding retirement age?

Currently, the suitable retirement age has become a controversial issue and there is no unanimity in the opinion of the people. Age to retire from job varies from area to area and job to job. The things that are to be taken in account on deciding the retirement age are discussed further.

First of all, the most prominent factor for deciding the retirement age is nature of the job. There are many jobs that are physically demanding like military, mines and so on. Keeping old ones in these jobs can be dangerous as people in old age cannot withstand physical exertion and may lead to some kind of accident. On the other hand, for certain positions experience is an asset. To illustrate, in jobs like teaching, judiciary and politics experienced people are more valued. So, people in such profession continue their job up to their seventies.

Yet another factor that cannot be given nelson’s eye is the level of unemployment in the country. With high unemployment level in the country keeping old ones on job would deny the new and young to avail the jobs, unemployed youth is detrimental for country’s economy. Also, number of skilled is very low limited in certain areas, thus discontinuing the existing one without adequate replacement for the job seems impossible. In such case there is no point to force old ones to quit job very early.

From the above analysis, it becomes evident that it is not possible to set a particular age for retirement because the requirement of different jobs varies greatly. Also, physical and mental capacities vary from individual to individual.