A tendency that the news reported in the media focuses on problems and emergencies rather than the positive developments is harmful to both the individual and the society. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In recent times, media has been in the limelight and has aroused the wide concern for the pernicious effects associated with it. Some people are of the fervent conviction that focusing on negative and urgent issues is detrimental to the society. Nonetheless, it is not always harmful and brings various benefits to society and individuals as well. This essay discuses both views before coming to some empirical conclusion.

To begin with, it is well known fact that media coverage related to problems and urgent issues bring enormous benefits for both the social and citizens in several ways. Firstly, it is responsibility of the media to cover negative issues such as the natural disaster, which allows people to protect them from the potential financial loss and physical injury. To take a concrete example, news reports from the television programs covering the information about tsunami and earthquake in India set the pivotal platform for warning the government and inhabitants. Secondly, the environmental pollution topics from the media are of great necessity for protecting the environment. Indeed, it not only raises the public’s awareness of protecting habitats but also catch the government’s attention to this phenomenon.

However, the excessive reports on problems negatively influence the behavior of people, as well as the journalist’s conduct. It is obvious that people exposed to too much news about crimes or accidents lose the sense of security. As a result, they become over-cautious and suspicious of the others which lead to have difficulties to build interpersonal relationship. Moreover, it encourages journalists to create bad stories and deliver the exaggerated news. To explain, some people believe that the dramatic and exciting news easily draw the public’s attention, they tend to write their articles with the emphasis on negative parts of the stories to raise their newspaper’s sales. Therefore, it results in fake news and unreal stories.

In the light of these entire facts one can conclude that, although the bad news creates the felling of anxiety and uncomfortable to numerous audiences, they are unavoidable in current information. The government and the citizens can learn to solve the problems.