A tendency that the news reported in the media focuses on problems and emergencies rather than the positive developments is harmful to both the individual and the society. To what extent, do you agree or disagree with this statement

Today, we live in a competitive era, various sources of media are focusing on sensation news, which fetch more viewers and readers. Some argues that this attitude is harmful for the people and the society. However, I disagree with this, as I believe that as long as the negative news reports are unbiased, the general public will not be harmed and there will be no detrimental effects on individuals and society.

My first argument is that it is the duty of the media to keep people abreast of what is happening. If bad things are happening, the citizens should be known so as they can protect themselves. Secondly, more news like that being spread, more volunteers would join in to protect the society. For instance, two years ago when Japanese suffered loss from disaster, news was spread like wildfire through all sources of media that a huge number of people sent relief in whatever way they could.

Undoubtedly, it is the onus of the media to report positive developments also. The media is a link between the government and the people. Very few people get to meet any politician in real life, but we can reach our voices to the authorities through the press. Then, the media also helps to get justice at times. In the Le Dieu Linh rape case in September 2018, it was through the efforts of the media that the culprits got a deserved punishment and her family got rights.

To sum up, it is imperative that media reports both positive and negative news without any bias and exaggeration. It its humans’ responsibilities to take the news with caution and analyze it with their critical thinking skills. Therefore, reporting more news on problems and emergencies is definitely not bad.