In many countries today, people buy a range of household goods (television, microwave, oven and rice cookers). Is it a positive or negative development?

In a world of consumerism, home electrical and electronic applicants have become so integral in modern life. Household goods like TV, microwave oven and so on make your life easier and more enjoyable, but there are some demerits. As a whole, this kind of goods, when properly used, can bring more merits than its demerits.

The development of consumerism in many countries is not entirely positive, and there are drawbacks which are less obvious and yet the should not be overlooked. To begin with, it not only costs money to buy consumer goods but also operate them. Of course, cost is a disadvantage if people lavish on household gadgets and use them excessively in what is called a “throw-away’ society. In other words, the dramatic increase in the number of household goods means the problem of greater carbon dioxide emissions, apart from the problem of rising energy demands and expenses that will need to be met.

Buying some pieces of household equipment intended for daily use may immensely benefit users at home, from cooking to entertainment. The microwave oven, for instance, allow us to cook rapidly with the turn of a dial, and this convenience provides more options in our daily life than in the past. Likewise, the rice cooker can simplify the cooking process by reducing the number of steps required to have a delicious bowl of rice. Thus, the more free time we save due to having such household appliances, the more other pursuits we are capable of doing at our will, including watching television in the comfort of our home after a stressful day from work.

On balance, the development of having useful appliances at your home is both positive and negative. Despite some deleterious repercussions typical of modern consumerism, life has been so much easier due to these devices available from the kitchen to the bedroom.