Increasing travel between countries enable people to learn different cultures or to increase tension between people from different countries.

The dramatic increase in transnational travel in recent years has sparked controversy. Some people are concerned that the upsurge in new arrivals will promote local hostility against visitors, instead of promoting their understanding on mutual cultural background. This notion should be rejected as one can see many factors in favor of this development between countries.

The first reason why international travels would never bring conflicts is rooted in the fact that both locals and visitors are economically motivated. International travel opens opportunities for business development throughout the world. Entrepreneurs are not only interested in domestic market but also oversea market. Foreigners should aware of one country’s culture before winning over the local people. In turn, the locals should show their hospitability to visitors in return for their trust. They share a view that acceptance of each other’s cultural background is crucial condition for cooperation.

Understanding a culture has other implications. Differences in social background, cultural values and religious belief might make the discrepancy of travelers and local inhabitants on some issues indelible, however, the higher interaction, the higher level of communication and understanding. Cuba, for example, used to consider Americans as their foes. Now, they have solid relations with each other in many fields. In the initial stages, their divergence seemed inherent but over time, with better mutual understanding, they share the same ideas on many issues.

According to above analysis, we can observe that the increase in the transnational travel should not be taken as the cause of any conflict that arises between two countries. Alternatively, one should recognize its role in improving mutual understanding between two nations.