Increasing travels between countries enable people to learn different cultures or to
increase tension between people from different countries?
Globalisation is a catch-all term that refers to any activity that involves more than one country, for
example, travel from one country to another. The dramatic increase in transnational travel in recent
years has sparked controversy over the potential impacts of this trend on individual countries,
especially those new member states of globalisation. Some people are concerned that the upsurge in
new arrivals will prompt local hostility against visitors, instead of promoting their understanding on
mutual cultural background. This notion should be rejected as one can see many facts in favour of this
development between countries.
The first reason why international travels would never bring conflict is rooted in the fact that both
visitors and locals are economically motivated. International travel opens up opportunities for business
development throughout the world. Entrepreneurs are interested not only in the domestic market but
also in the overseas market. Foreigners should learn the culture of a country before winning over the
local people. In turn, locals should show their hospitality to visitors in exchange for their trust. They
share a view that acceptance of each other's cultural background is a necessary condition for
cooperation.
Understanding a culture has other implications. Differences in social background, cultural values and
religious belief might make the discrepancy of foreigners and local inhabitants on some issues
indelible; however, the higher interaction, the higher level of communication and understanding.
Arabians, for example, used to consider westerners as their foes. Now they have concrete relations
with their western allies in many fields. In the initial stage, their divergence seemed inherent but over
time, with better mutual understanding, they take the same position on many issues.
Undeniably, it is likely that in some resorts, foreign visitors repel the local community with their scant
regard for the local environment and conventions when they first arrive. However, it should be noted
that most offense is accidental, rather than intentional. Instead, visitors disobey rules and conventions
simply because they have no knowledge of them. This situation is expected to be improved with the
passing of time when visitors from different countries increase their knowledge of a local culture.
According to the above analysis, we can observe that the increase in the international travel should not
be taken as the cause of any conflict that arises between two countries. Alternatively, one should
recognise its role in improving mutual understanding between two countries.