Increasing travels between countries enable people to learn about different cultures OR to increase tension between people from different countries. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Opinions differ greatly as to whether an increasing number of travels will facilitate cultural exchange or trigger cross-country tension. I deem that this trend is more likely to encourage cultural learning for the reason that transnational tourism allows travelers to have a comprehensive view of cultural differences.

Opponents of exceeding travels argue that the inappropriate behaviors caused by tourists may place strain on transnational relationships. Admittedly, due to the language barrier and restraint on information, tourists may not be cognizant of the indigenous culture or how to act properly in social situations to please the locals when traveling. For example, in a Muslim country, some tourists might disregard the seating seperation of men and women in a mosque. Consequently, they risk committing wrongdoings or having unseemly behaviors that are a catalyst for unwanted conflicts and misunderstanding. Furthermore, tourists who might upload these incidents on the Internet to attract attention could spread these negative remarks at an unprecedented pace. As a result, it can ultimately aggravate the whole situation if there are no clarifications, fueling the cultural tension in a particular country.

However, I contend that cross-country traveling plays an integral role in facilitating cross-cultural learning by offering travel enthusiasts an in-depth view of the differences between nations. Indeed, these journeys enable travelers to acquire first-hand experiences with an indigenous cultural quintessence such as its culinary, customs and traditions. Additionally, interaction with the locals affords travelers a more subjective and in-depth viewpoint on that culture. Altogether, this cross-cultural exposure allows visitors to form a different and more subjective mentality about the host country’s culture since they can listen from the locals' viewpoint. This change ultimately eases misapprehension thus transcending the barrier that prevents mutual exchange of knowledge. Without prejudices towards a particular culture, people are more willing to discover novel cultural facts and exchange knowledge.

In closing, while some people might believe that tourists may instigate transnational conflicts due to their insufficient knowledge of a country, I firmly agree that traveling provides an incentive to learn about other cultures.