Some people think that the purpose of TV news programs is to entertain viewers. Others believe that news programs should be educational and informative. What do you think the purpose of TV news programs is? Support your opinion with reasons and examples.

Opinions differ greatly as to whether the role of TV news programs should be providing recreation or educational information. Although including entertaining factors can be justifiable, I believe that broadcasters should incorporate educational elements in their news programs.

On one hand, recreational factors in news broadcasts facilitate rating and audience engagement. Admittedly, programs that are entertaining allow viewers to ease stress while news that aim at hard topics can generate negative emotions thus increasing the pressure that viewers may bear. Since viewers enjoy how refreshing entertainment programs are, they are more likely to engage with those programs, consequently, raising the programs' ratings. This will allow broadcasters to gain an advantage over other programs like political or international news broadcasts.

On the other hand, news programs should be produced as a means of enhancing viewers' knowledge. First of all, the amount of time that people watch TV more worthwhile if they can accumulate educational information. Although entertaining news programs can be a means of reducing stress, the information acquired from them fail to be useful in everyday life. By contrast, educational news broadcasts like those of BBC or CNN can keep viewers updated with current affairs or practical scientific information. This can enlarge viewers' scope about life, especially with young learners who can utilize the above information for their schoolwork and provide an impetus for them to learn outside the coursebooks.

In conclusion, people think that entertaining news programs can attract a greater number of viewers, thereby facilitating their ratings. However, these programs should be aimed at providing valuable educational information to encourage everybody to learn.