It is generally believed that some people are born with certain talents, for instance for sport or music, and others are not. However, it is sometimes claimed that any child can be taught to become a good sports person or musician.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is a commonly-held belief that some children are gifted in a particular field, such as sport or music. However, it is also argued that youngsters can still be skilled at them through teaching and training. While both viewpoints have gathered concrete arguments, I believe that children can be taught the skills required to be competent.

On the one hand, this belief is a result of the media’s influence through the portrayal of various global figures. Mass media, such as newspapers and broadcasters, often have a wide coverage of famous people’s biography which emphasizes their background including their early years as gifted children. For example, music prodigies like Beethoven and Mozart are described to have displayed various musical abilities at a young age. With prominent examples like these, people are inclined to believe the existence of inborn talents that are possessed by certain individuals.

On the other hand, it appears to me that skilled sports players or musicians are the cultivation of learning rather than relying solely on innate talents. A compelling reason for this is that constant accumulation, training and perseverance are prerequisites to children’s proficiency. This can be ascribed to the fact that these factors allow the sharpening as well as memorization of the skills as repetition is an essential part of training. Mere inborn abilities, however, can only encourage each individual’s learning speed but not improve their skills in the long run. The teachability of many sets of skills and knowledge, be it in sports or music, can also explain why youngsters can become proficient individuals even without innate talents. This can be exemplified by music notes, song production or kicking techniques in football and a number of figures, like Messi or Ronaldo, who have excelled after rigorous training.

In conclusion, while some people are convinced by the media that innate talents are gifted to certain individuals, I deem that whoever children can master the skills in a specific field through diligent learning and training.