Research suggests that the majority of criminals who are sent to prison would commit crimes when set free? What are the reasons? What can be done to solve the problem?

Although prisons should reform criminals and prevent them from committing a crime again, in reality, a large number of wrongdoers reoffend after being released. This phenomenon can be attributed to the ex-offender’s failure to support his life and his poor reform. Nonetheless, a number of solutions such as facilitating rehabilitation and minimizing violent culture in prisons can be introduced to limit the convicts’ chances of committing crimes.

A difficult life after incarceration and an ineffective reform system are believed to be responsible for the reoffending of ex-convicts. After being set free, ex-offenders often struggle to secure a job since recruiters would single them out, believing that an employee with a criminal record and lack experiences can cause controversy as well as damage their reputation. Being out of job, ex-criminals suffer from indigence; out of desperation, they would commit wrongdoings to fulfill their needs like food or accommodation. Another rationale for reoffending is that criminals fail to be reformed due to the extreme measures to control them during imprisonment. Such measures, like stringent rules and violent methods used by jailers, may generate psychological problems and resentment among prisoners, creating a hostile environment that breeds intentional misconducts. The resulting trauma and an unstable mentality eventually increase the likelihood of defying the law after release.

However, a number of commendable solutions can be enacted to resolve this problem. The first possible way is to enable rehabilitation through engaging prisoners in vocational training. With these courses, they can learn personal skills and other specific job skills like communication or computer literacy and the qualifications earned from such courses can persuade recruiters about their competence, increasing their chances of being recruited. Another feasible method is to provide mental aid, for instance, in the form of therapy sessions. As prisoners struggle with inferiority and possible personality disorders from the hostile prison environment, such sessions can allow ex-convicts to cope with mental problems and build confidence. If they are instilled a sense of self-worth and that society do welcome them, ex-offenders will be incentivized to start a new life and contribute to their society.

In closing, due to the rejection of recruiters which causes financial difficulty and a hostile environment resulting from strict measures, many criminals fall into criminality. Introducing vocational training and mental help to convicts can minimize reoffending to a great extent.