Some high schools have a requirement that students must complete a certain amount of volunteer work in order to graduate. What do you think about this type of requirement? Give details to support your opinion.

In recent times, senior high schoolers must devote their time to volunteering for a period of time in order to graduate. While I believe this requirement can exert numerous favorable impacts on individuals and society as a whole, students should not be obliged to do voluntary work.

Implementing obligatory volunteering in high schools will open various benefits to both individuals and society. From an individual's perspective, this incorporation can help them prepare for a future career. Specifically, vital soft skills such as communication and teamwork can be enhanced, throughwhich will also supply an abundance of hands-on experience. This wealth of practical knowledge can be an advantage for them in their pursuit of future jobs, securing their promotion prospects and higher income. On a societal level, an increasing number of volunteers necessitates the delivery of help to those in need, especially in natural disasters. Not only does this relieve the burden on authorities but it also strengthens social solidarity.

Despite the aforementioned reasons, voluntary work should not be made a compulsory graduate criterion. The value of volunteering is in the participant's willingness and the cognizance of their positive impacts on society when they devote themselves to help people. Hence, requiring students to volunteer will induce resistance as it goes against their will, thus discouraging them from appreciating the merits of volunteering. They might think that instead of performing voluntary tasks, it could have been used to study. Consequently, this not only indicates a waste of time and effort for students it also fails to contribute to society's benefits.

As mentioned above, incorporating mandatory volunteer as a graduate requirement allows a chance for students to improve their skills for future jobs and improve social uniformity. However, it is advisable that students should be free to choose to volunteer or not.