There is a disagreement on the impact of increased business and culture contact between countries on a country’s identity. What is your opinion?

One of the most noticeable trends in the 21st century is a closer connection relationship between countries, economically and culturally. There is a widespread concern that this will lead to the gradual demise of countries’ identities. This issue should be viewed and analyzed from multiple perspectives.

When a nation tends to develop a closer connection with the rest of the world, it does not necessarily give up its culture. Culture is not a shame to but an asset of a country. An indigenous culture can distinguish one country form others, attracting foreign visitors and yielding high income. As most tourists travel abroad to broaden their minds about different cultures, sampling ways of life, such as Japanese tea culture and Thai temples, many countries have responded with protecting and preserving their cultural identities. Increased tourism instils fresh life force into these countries, aiding the conservation of their features.

While tourism provides a driving force for cultural conversation, some components of a culture, such as traditions, customs or taboos might die out over time. It seems that in some countries, the locals have become more accustomed to exotic cultures. It reflects the combined effects of the invasion of foreign cultures, either through media or direct business interaction. For example, two decades ago, sex was an offensive subject in China and most Chinese people feel embarrassed when talk openly about it. Over the time, the Western culture has permeated into the Chinese lifestyle, and the Chinese people have broken many of their time-honored traditions. It occurs in the rest of the world as well.

As outlined above, increased interaction between countries in the domains of business and culture can either strengthen or undermine the identities of countries involve. To date there is no definite answer to this question.