Main stream media channels tend to reflect issues and disasters more than positive incidents. A group consider this approach as a bad effect for society in general and people in particular. I partly agree with this notion based on some reasons.

From one side, spreading hot news about unpleasant situations may be beneficial to some extent. Firstly, it makes people aware and warned about emergencies and helps them developing a sense of carefulness to prevent them if possible or become ready to face them at the moment of occurrence. For instance, the police shows different crimes on media for educational purposes. Secondly, mass media can attract a great attention and make big contribution to overcome issues and solve problems. An example of this, is the warning news about environmental phenomena which brings people together.

From another side, focusing completely on bad news, can surely cause some major problems to the society well being. One of the results from this, may be threating the sense of safety among people. This would surely lead people to lose their healthy mental state and get suspicious and pessimistic about the world. A clear example of this approach is that they feel unsafe about traveling to third world countries due to the delusion of war or terrorism. Furthermore, bad news report increases the rate of depression and suicide in the society. Hence, some people consciously decide not to follow breaking news. Thus, from my personal stand point, we should take action in order to decrease the influence of bad news.

To sum up, although negative news may have some benefits for society, ultraism would definitely harm the audiences. Therefore, I personally believe it is vital to take balance between broadcasting good and bad news.