There are controversial arguments on the importance of sports for the society. While some consider them as solely recreational activities, I personally believe they also have some crucial roles in our lives.

From one side, apparently sports are accounted for one of the popular entertainments among people, As some of them devote lots of time on supporting their favorite team. They not only follow sports matches and news, but also play sports in their free time. For instance, when we go to the parks, we see different age groups playing various sports like football or volleyball. Hopefully, governments are inclined to allocate funds into enhancing sports facilities, since this is a beneficial type of entertainment for society members.

From the other side, although sports are a significant part of leisure activities, they also play other pivotal roles in our lives. First of all, being physically active prevents us from becoming fat, since our mandatory lifestyles has exposed us to obesity and other health problems. Therefore, sports act like a drug for curing our health difficulties as well as preventing more diseases. In addition, sports have some mental effects too. The hormones that spread in our body while we are physically active, result in better mood and mental state. As an example, whenever I am depressed, a short run simply reverses my attitude.

In conclusion, despite the fact that sports act as recreational activities, they are also an undeniable source of physical and mental health. Thus, their importance should not be underestimated.