Foreign visitors should pay more than local visitor for cultural and historical attractions. To what extent, do you agree or disagree

The dramatic increase in transnational travel in recent years has sparked controversy which caused a situation where international travelers are charged higher than the locals for cultural and historical monuments. This notion should be rejected as one can see many facts in favor of this development.

Historical attractions are existed since thousands of years, and these monuments need some sort of preservation and special care to keep it in a good condition to last long. Continues visiting by people at the historical places along with severe environment conditions may destroy the precious structure; therefore, money should be arranged to fund the preservation process. For example, government impose different price to the foreign visitors to secure the required budget required for any maintenance or repairs for such important heritage.

The reason why international visitors should be treated equally is rooted in the fact that both visitors and locals are economically motivated. International travel opens opportunities for business development throughout the world. Entrepreneurs are interested not only in the domestic market but also in the oversea market. Paying the same fee as the natives when entering any historical locations may leave them a good impression. To take the UK as an example, the tourism industry and many related jobs rely on visitors coming to the country to sight places like Windsor Castle, Saint Paul’s Cathedral. These two sites charge the same price regardless of nationality, and this helps to promote the nation’s cultural heritage. If overseas tourists stopped coming due to higher prices, there would be a risk of insufficient funding for the maintenance of these vital buildings.