Many people spend a lot of money on clothes, haircuts, and beauty products to enhance their appearance. Some people think that it is a good way to spend money, while others think that there is a better way to spend it. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

For centuries, men and women have beautified their eyes, lips and body. However, in today’s contemporary (modern) society, people are spending excessively on their looks. Some people opine that this expenditure is justified, but others are opposed to this overspending. This essay shall discuss both perspectives, however, side with the latter view.

To begin with, this disproportionate spending on their exterior appeals many because it is a general perception (belief) that good look results better feel and encourages better behavior, consequently(as a result) brings positive responses from people. There is no doubt that fashionable clothes, stylish haircuts and high quality beauty products can turn any ugly duckling into a beautiful swan. Secondly, in today’s competitive era, looks are very important, so much so that (to such extent) some professions are totally dependent on looks. Many film stars have got face-lifts and other cosmetic surgeries done on their faces to look younger and thus be in job for longer. Even in some other jobs such as receptionists in offices and air-hostesses, looks are weighed over other things.

On the other hand, some people opine that such extravagant (wasteful, lavish, too much) expenditure on looks is unreasonable. They say that one should save or invest money to build a bright future. That money can also be spent on quality education in a reputed university. Some money should also be donated for charity. No doubt, that looks are important and it is everyone’s right to look their best. However, one must remember that ultimately what matters is the inner ‘you’. It is more important to be beautiful from within. What is more, these products are not without their side effects. Too many products used on hair and face may damage the hair and skin permanently. Therefore, one must not overspend on these things.

To conclude, outrageous (shockingly bad or excessive) spending on improving looks is bad. The outer appearance may have a temporary appeal but what ultimately matters is the person within.