News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news? Would it be better if more good news were reported? Use your own ideas, knowledge and experiences and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidences.

Nowadays, news has become an important aspect of daily life, everyone is keen on knowing what is happening around them and media is only way for lay man to access national and international affairs. But, today news editors manipulate news according to their interest and benefit and giving more importance to unpleasant news rather than true, informative or good news. However, it is an accepted fact that news editors, while deciding what to report, can be influenced by many factors.

To begin with, there are various factors that decide the news to be published. Firstly, publicity and profit decide the news. It has been often said that ’good news is bad news’ because it brings more profit and attracts more people. As people go after such news, so editors edit and change the news. Thus, bias news is provided to general public which they relish delightfully. Moreover, editors may resort favoritism that are various political, religious or social ideologies and this may cause serious consequences. India, case in point, religious ideologies are targeted for promotion but it results in various riots that leads to loss of life and property.

Moving further, another influential reason behind this situation is that most of the T.V. Channels and news papers are owned by political parties and religious groups with well defined objective to propagate their own ideologies. So, it is cock sure that they provide the news of their own interest. Apart from this, audio visual advancement has changed the nature of news altogether, publishers only give importance to that news which makes visual interest.

To recapitulate, news papers and T.V, stations are tailoring news to their readers and viewer requirements. Thus, it can be considered that reporting the real world in an honest and objective light has become almost impossible.