Despite showing commitment to truth-telling and allowing the release of news to the public through print or televised media, even without the fears of censorship or pressures from the governments, some people think news editors are under influence of many hidden factors like political motives or financial gains. I think editors are bound to show to the public what the masses actually want to know and of course, our world would be a better place to live, with less anxiety and stress, if journalists only show the good picture to their target audience.

There may be multiple reasons for deciding which news should be aired to the masses. For example, some of the editors will be following the code of sharing truth and avoidance of hiding the facts and figures from the general public. By sharing every bits and pieces of information, editors actually put the onus of perceiving the meaning by the readers themselves. Of course, some of the editors are under pressure, either from the producers or media-owners, government officials. For example, in many countries, there are censorship boards, which filter the news before it reaches to the public according to the local tradition, religion, regimens or some political motives. Last but not least, some editors would be behaving as black-sheep of their profession, by either swaying away after the lust of financial gains or blackmailing someone with rich or authoritative.

On the other side, journalist claim that whatever they report is as according to the wishes and liking of their viewers. For example, people go after the news filled with suspense, sensations, crime stories. Indeed many listeners like the negative way of portraying the news to satisfy their inner self, avidly inclining to the breaking news related to turmoil, pessimism or chaos.

Although editors associated with the print media as well as broadcasting have the responsibility to share the information to public with the intention of telling truth and not hiding anything from their listeners, yet many raise the need of reporting responsible journalism. There is already too much stress and anxiety in this materialistic world. Certainly, many people succumb to diseases and ailments just because of irresponsible reporting of falsifying facts.

In conclusion, editors should not get influenced by anything and should spread the real news in a sublime way in order to inculcate the sense of hope and optimistic ideas among their target audience.