Animals should not be used for the benefit of human beings unless there is evidence that the animals do not suffer in any way. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Currently, there is a lot of controversy about using animals for human needs. Animal rights activists are trying to stop all modern and traditional activities, which involve killing animals or cause their suffering. Traditionalists are trying to convince the community that using living creatures for men's needs is natural and cannot be avoided in everyday life. This essay will explore it in detail.

On one hand, activists, who defend animal rights, are preaching the world not to use animals in any way. Moreover, they believe that animals should have exactly same rights as humans do. The reason is that people and animals are both living creatures and there shouldn't be any difference in treating them. So-called extreme vegans are refusing to eat any food of animal origin, even milk or honey. Apart from this, killing animals and keeping them in captivity cause animals suffering and is perceived uncivilized.

On the other side, traditionalists disagree with the statement that human should stop killing animals or using them to fulfill their needs. As, from the very beginning of human civilization, there is a tradition and vital need to use animals as a food and their parts in traditional crafts. Without proteins and vitamins of animal origin, the human body wouldn't receive all nutrients it needs. Moreover, testing some medicals on animals already helped to fight many diseases people suffered from.

To conclude, people have the moral right to use animals to their benefit, to some extent. Animals should not be led to suffer and die for our fun. Although, using animals for food is natural for humans as predators, but as civilized predators, we should make sure to use only humane ways of killing.