Discuss the advantage and disadvantage of giving international aids to poor countries.

It is apparent that international assistance programs and multinational charity organizations are gaining a great deal of media attention in recent decades. Although these international aids have partially improved the life quality in poor nations, i think it could potentially hamper a country’s development.

On the one hand, there are a good few reasons why poverty-stricken countries would benefit from international aids. First, some assistance programs from developed countries such as raising funds and commodity donations could help low-income citizens in poor countries to diminish the risk of poverty and have better living standards. For example, Due to mutual aids from cooperations worldwide, North Korean people are provided with adequate food and relief operations to maintain their life, which remarkably has reduced poverty rate in this country. Second, thanks to some world health organizations, underprivileged children in developing countries with crippling conditions now can be treated in state-of-the-art medical institutions without paying money. This means that their fatal diseases would be eradicated, which is instrumental in increasing their life expectancy.

On the other hand, multinational aids could remarkably fraught with long-term negative consequences. The first reason is that affluent countries' allocation of financial funds to poor countries could enable citizens to rely heavily on them. This means that they would have no motivation to work harder for better living quality, leading to an increase in unemployment rate. Another reason is that not only does international assistance take a heavy toll on labor force but also it could contribute to the economic depression in the prosperous nations. This could be implied that if these nations incessantly focus on funding programs, the likelihood of increasing tax in order to maintain national revenues is inevitable, which subsequently make citizens bear some serious financial burden.

In conclusion, offering international aid to low-income countries could potentially pose a harmful threat to the process of economic and social development.