A car is a necessity of life and one cannot imagine life without it nowadays. However, owning a car is not enough and has its own merits and demerits.

These days, almost every house has a car. Some might own it to flaunt their status while the rest of the people need it for their day to day work. One of the most important reason to have a car is to commute to work. As is seen, it’s is not easy to get a job in nearby places. People commit to travel long distances just to have an appropriate job with rewarding salaries. A striking example that comes to my mind is of my cousin who commutes to Luton airport despite living in Feltham in the hope that he will have a promising future as a pilot. As a reward of his commitment, he will be starting his job as a pilot from September. He needs a car to travel as it would be unimaginable to travel by the public transport every day for work.Also, people normally shop once a week due to their busy schedule. When we shop for the whole week, the items would not be easy to be dragged around in public transportation. Hence, car comes handy in this situation.

On the other hand, having a car comes with its own price. Owning a car is not enough. With cars comes a lot of responsibilities.it is unanimously agreed that car needs fuel to run and fuel is not cheap. Furthermore, the car has to go for maintenance every few months. Additionally, we have to have a permit in order for a car to run on the roads which will cost money as well.Even if we have all the means to drive a car, the greatest responsibility would lie on ourselves towards the people and animals on the road while we drive as every life matters. No matter how many years of driving experience we have had, it is mandatory for us to be responsible drivers.

Congestion is another factor that has to be considered. A well known example would be of people who are suffering from the traffic due to the introduction of more cars every year. The sound and air pollution caused by cars to the environment is a crucial thing as it is one of the main reason for global warming. This thing matters as the very Mother Earth we live on is suffering.

All in all, I concede that although having a car has its own perks, we will always have to be bear in mind that we have a responsible towards other people and the environment.