Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of studying abroad

In recent years, there has been a growing trend toward studying overseas among young people. The good reasons for this is that the educational system overseas is widely considered of life-transforming opportunities and developments; however, students have to undergo a number of challenges. This essay will analyze the merits and demerits of studying abroad.

On the one hand, studying abroad allows to gain a real knowledge of a new culture and a new language. This means, the communication and interaction with native speakers daily that students can enhance their foreign language skills. Besides, they simultaneously explore the values and ways of life of the host country, which have starkly open and straightforward in their communicate. Moreover, overseas students will learn how to take care of themselves and live independently. Earning money for subsistence expense, grocery shopping and making living arrangements are some classic example. Therefore, they will adapt to the new environment and become self-sufficient from different backgrounds, which is of great value to their careers later in life.

On the other hand, young people have the drawbacks to be able to live their life in a new country. Most of students are lack of life experiences and difficult to communicate with local people because of difference about religion and mindset. Failure to cope with problems that they feel helpless, suffer homesick and in worse case, have a breakdown.

In conclusion, studying abroad poses both opportunities and challenges. It is hard to decide whether to become polyglot and independent individually or cope with the stress of living overseas.