Discuss the reasons of brain-drain. Describe its effects on their host and mother land.

The flight of talent from one country to another is termed as brain drain. This ongoing phenomenon is prevalent from past and escalated with time and facilities in globalization. In order to have better job opportunities and security, people migrate to various developed nations. This essay provides the impact of this trend on the donor and the host country.

On one hand, migrants bring a lot of benefits to the host country. To enumerate, skilled workers from other nations have big contribution in the development of the recipient country by reducing labor shortages. As international traders bring new skills and experience that encourages growth in infrastructure, industries, and this leads to the development of the host country. Moreover, it reduces the expenses of government spent on education and training. For instance, the population migrated is already trained and skilled from their native land and further they pay taxes to the new land to sustain their aged life. Thus, brain drain helps the host country to achieve a sustainable economic development.

On other hand, movement of skilled has several detrimental effects on donor country, especially the developing country. Firstly, it deprives the home country from skilled manpower. Native country invest huge in educating population and in revert citizens’ contribution is limited and a mere bank deposit or investment. To illustrate, the most effective doctors of a country leave the country for better opportunities in abroad and that country face shortage of good doctors and its public health services fall behind. With brain drain migrated country enjoys more benefits of the investment made by the donor country on raising the skilled labor. It is obvious that lack of facilities resulted this situation and it is every country’s responsibility to provide enough facilities to excellent personalities to get their services.

To recapitulate, donor country has no right to complain unless they provide enough facilities, better living conditions and utilization of their talent in the country of their birth. Actually, experts are forced to leave their country because of inadequacies and lack of opportunities.