Discuss the reasons of brain-drain. Describe its effects on their host and mother land.

The flight of talent from one country to another is termed as brain drain. This ongoing phenomenon is prevalent from past and escalated with time and facilities in globalization. This essay provides the empirical reasons and impact of this migration on the donor and the host country.

To begin with, it is obvious that inadequacy and lack of facilities in most of the developing and under developed countries resulted to this migration. In order to have better job opportunities, fortune and security, people migrate to various developed nations. and it is every country’s responsibility to provide enough facilities to excellent personalities to preserve them and utilize their services.

On one hand, migrants bring lot of benefits to the host country. To enumerate, skilled workers from other nations reduces the labor shortages and has big contribution in the development of the recipient country. As international workers bring new skills and experience that encourages growth in infrastructure, industries, and this leads to the development of the host country. Moreover, it reduces the expenses of government on education and training. For instance, the population migrated is already trained and skilled from their native land and further they pay taxes to the new land to sustain their aged life. Thus, brain drain helps the host country to achieve a sustainable economic development.

On other hand, movement of skilled has several detrimental effects on donor country, especially the developing country. Firstly, it deprives the home country from skilled manpower. Native country receives limited contribution and a mere bank deposit or investment as revert of huge investment in educating citizens. To illustrate, the most effective doctors of a country leave the country for better opportunities in abroad and that country face shortage of good doctors and its public health services fall behind. With brain drain migrated country enjoys more benefits of the investment made by the donor country on raising the skilled labor.

To recapitulate, donor country has no right to complain unless they provide enough facilities, better living conditions and utilization of their talent in the country of their birth. Actually, experts are forced to leave their country because of inadequacies and lack of opportunities.