diversity statement

Growing up in Nigeria I had the privilege of being part of a nation that boasts more than 250 ethnic groups, each with their own unique customs and traditions, being a member of this community exposed me to the tapestry of ethnicities, customs and traditions from an early age. Living in a community where people from backgrounds coexist allowed me to interact with individuals who held perspectives and outlooks on life, this early exposure from my home country fostered within me a curiosity and deep respect for differing opinions, which has shaped my commitment to promoting equality and inclusivity.

Furthermore my educational journey at the Federal University of Technology Akure, a renowned institution for its excellence in Nigeria provided me more with insights into the significance of inclusiveness, I was able to interact with students hailing from ethnic backgrounds, religions and walks of life, hereby expanded my horizons and solidified my dedication to engaging an environment that embraces everyone. I also had opportunity and currently involve in international research collaborations. In addition, collaborating on projects together and participating in extracurricular activities at this school helped me recognize and value the immense richness that diversity brings to any given setting.

In addition, during my student internship at the Nigeria Air Force's 661 Military Medical Laboratory, I encountered a task of connecting the healthcare with military personnel. This experience demanded not expertise, but also a thorough comprehension of the unique needs and expectations, I was able to engage in communication, attentive listening and cultural awareness which helps me to successfully gained knowledge, built relationships and offered valuable assistance.

Likewise, as a part of the trainee omics group of BC Children's Hospital Research Institute, Research Fellow and Instructor at the Institute of Bioinformatics and Molecular, and through various collaborative efforts, I have had the opportunity to engage in research collaborations with different countries, including the USA, Pakistan, and Australia, to name a few, these experiences and research collaborations have significantly shaped my ability to interact and conduct research with diverse individuals, equipping me with the skills necessary to engage in interdisciplinary research.

Furthermore, as a Laboratory Quality Assurance Officer at Sonnex Packaging Nigeria Limited, where I ensured food safety through microbiological testing. Here I embraced diverse perspectives working diverse people in a multinational team, and leveraged my intercultural communication skills to create a harmonious and collaborative work environment, the success of our unit, as evidenced by minimal customer complaints, showcased the power of our inclusive teamwork and highlighted the positive outcomes that can be achieved when individuals from different backgrounds come together towards a common goal.