Do the benefits of mass tourism outweigh its drawbacks?

These days, it is true that more people find themselves interested in traveling. However, this essay argues that the benefits are eclipsed by the drawbacks because, despite the increase in revenues for local individuals and governments, it can lead to deforestation and social problems.

On the one hand, tourism plays an important role as a large potential source of revenue. In other words, when tourists travel, they demand many services, including accommodations, food, souvenirs, and even leisure activities, which creates more employment in the local areas. As a result, there will be an increase in income tax contributions to the budget of local governments, which directly boost the economy of the host country.

On the other hand, despite those aforementioned advantages, there are some undeniable adverse effects of tourism on local areas. Firstly, the rapid influx of tourists into a country can result in a lack of accommodations. In order to fulfill their demands, local governments would have to provoke deforestation in order to have places to build hotels, restaurants, and resorts, which leads to the cutting down of myriad trees and the extinction of a wide range of animals. Secondly, with the massive hordes of travelers into countries, residents are more likely to suffer from pollution due to the increasing of waste and usage of vehicles. As a result, people who live in poor air quality are more easily to get asthma and many others respiratory hazards.

In conclusion, the fact that increased tourism leads to deforestation and social problems clearly outweighs the flawed argument that it can create job openings for local residents.